Why are Brahmins important in UP?: Why did Mayawati play Brahmin card after 14 years? BJP, SP and Congress also made planning; Understand the strategy of each party in 10 points


  • Hindi News
  • Local
  • Uttar pradesh
  • Lucknow
  • Role Of Brahmin Voters In Uttar Pradesh, BSP,BJP,SP And Congress Target Brahmin Voters; Why Did Mayawati Play The Brahmin Card After 13 Years? BJP, SP And Congress Also Made Planning; Understand In 10 Points

Lucknow22 minutes agoAuthor: Aditya Tiwari

  • copy link

Assembly elections are due in Uttar Pradesh next year. To win this, all the political parties are trying to adopt all kinds of tactics. Some are seeking votes in the name of religion and some in the name of caste. Mayawati also remembered Brahmins after 14 years. For the first time in 2007, Mayawati did social engineering of Brahmin-Dalit. Then the brahmins voted openly for Mayawati and she even reached the chief minister’s chair.

This was the second time in the politics of UP that Brahmins had unitedly voted for any other party except the traditional party Congress and BJP. Before this, a large number of Brahmins were also associated with the Samajwadi Party during the time of Janeshwar Mishra. Understand in 10 points why Brahmins are necessary in Uttar Pradesh? Why did Mayawati play the Brahmin card after 14 years and what is the plan of BJP, SP and Congress now?

1. Why Brahmin is necessary in UP?
Brahmins have always dominated the politics of UP. In terms of population, there are about 13% Brahmins in the state. In many assembly seats, more than 20% of the voters are Brahmins. In such a situation, the eyes of every party are fixed on this vote bank.
In Balrampur, Basti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Jaunpur, Amethi, Varanasi, Chandauli, Kanpur, Prayagraj, Brahmins vote is more than 15%. Here Brahmin voters play an important role in the victory or defeat of any candidate.
2. Why did Mayawati remember Brahmins after 14 years?

In 2007, under the leadership of Mayawati, the BSP contested the elections on the Brahmin + Dalit + Muslim equation, then their government was formed. The BSP had given 86 tickets to Brahmins in this election. Then Mayawati was voted openly by Brahmins. There were two reasons for this. The first was that Mayawati had put forward the concept of social engineering and secondly the Brahmins were angry with the Samajwadi Party. During that time BSP was the strongest party in the alternative of SP. The condition of Congress and BJP was not good. Now the BSP is planning to give tickets to about 100 Brahmins, Muslims and other caste candidates for the 2022 elections.
3. Why are Brahmins angry with BJP?
In UP, Brahmins are said to be angry with BJP for the last 3 years. There are many arguments being given behind this. Firstly, Brahmins were not given proper preference in the Yogi cabinet. In the cabinet of 56 ministers, 8 Brahmins were given place but except Dinesh Sharma and Shrikant Sharma, no one was given important portfolios. While 8 Kshatriyas were also made ministers and were given better portfolios than Brahmins.
After this, most of the Brahmins were killed in the continuous encounters in UP. It was publicized by the opposition with the tag of anti-Brahmin. Even in the appointment of officers, the Yogi government has been accused of discriminating against Brahmins. Most SC-ST cases have also been registered against Brahmins during the tenure of BJP.
4. What is the equation made by SP and Congress?
For the elections to be held next year, SP is eyeing the Yadav + Kurmi + Muslim + Brahmin equation. Similarly, that section of Congress Brahmin + Dalit + Muslim and OBC who is trying to pull the BJP, not with the SP, towards them. It is said that both the parties are working fast on this.


5. What has BSP done so far?

In 2007, Satish Chandra Mishra had connected Brahmins with BSP.

In 2007, Satish Chandra Mishra had connected Brahmins with BSP.

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati has given the responsibility of connecting Brahmins with the party to National General Secretary and Rajya Sabha MP Satish Chandra Mishra. Mishra has held more than 40 meetings in the state before the wave of coronavirus. Party sources said that, together with the divisional and districts, this is the assembly where Brahmins dominate.

6. SP-BSP race to install idols
Samajwadi Party national president Akhilesh Yadav has engaged three Brahmin leaders of the party -Abhishek Mishra, Manoj Pandey and Mata Prasad Pandey to unite the Brahmins. It has been announced by Abhishek Mishra to install a 108 feet statue of Parashuram in Lucknow. Hours after SP’s announcement, BSP supremo Mayawati had said in a press conference that if she comes to power in 2022, she will put up an even taller statue of Lord Parashuram. Not only this, he also announced to name the park and hospital after Parashuram.

7. Congress is now supported by Pramod Tiwari, Laliteshpati

Pramod Tiwari's hold is considered very strong in the seats around Pratapgarh and Prayagraj.  The number of Brahmin voters in these seats is very high.

Pramod Tiwari’s hold is considered very strong in the seats around Pratapgarh and Prayagraj. The number of Brahmin voters in these seats is very high.

Brahmin voters have always been considered a strong pillar of the Congress, but it has started breaking down over the years. There are very few Brahmin leaders left in the Congress now. Recently Jitin Prasada has also left the Congress and joined the BJP. Now Congress has Pramod Tiwari in UP and Lalitesh Pati Tripathi from Mirzapur, two such big leaders who have great respect in Brahmin society. The party has also given these two leaders the responsibility of connecting Brahmin voters with the Congress. The Congress is trying to establish the Gandhi family as the biggest Brahmin in the state.

8. With whom did the Brahmins stay in 2009, 2014?
The Center for the Study Developing Society (CSDS) in one of its surveys has revealed with whom Brahmins have appeared in the last two Lok Sabha elections. In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, 31% Brahmins had voted in favor of the Congress, while in 2014 only 11% were in its favor.
In 2009, 53% Brahmins voted for BJP. Whereas in 2014 it got support of 72%. The BSP got 9% of this category in 2009 and only 5% in 2014. The Samajwadi Party could not woo them. In both 2009 and 2014 Lok Sabha elections, it got only five per cent Brahmin votes.

9. What is the role of Brahmins in UP politics?
Talking about BJP, 17 MLAs reached the assembly in 1993, 14 in 1996 elections, 8 MLAs in 2002, 3 in 2007 and 6 Brahmin MLAs in 2012. In 2017 also, more than 17% of the MLAs have reached the assembly by electing from the Brahmin caste.
Talking about SP, 2 MLAs in 1993, 3 in 1996, 10 MLAs in 2002, 11 in 2007 and 21 Brahmin MLAs in 2012 reached the assembly. In 2017 also SP had given tickets to 10% Brahmins.
Congress won 5 MLAs in 1993, 4 in 1996, 1 ​​in 2002, 2 in 2007 and 3 Brahmin MLAs in 2012, whereas in 2017 Congress gave tickets to 15% Brahmin candidates.

10. BJP’s bet to convince the rude Brahmins

Dr. Dinesh Sharma has the responsibility of keeping the Brahmins connected with the BJP.

Dr. Dinesh Sharma has the responsibility of keeping the Brahmins connected with the BJP.

BJP has also played a gamble to convince the angry Brahmins. Bringing veteran Congress leader Jitin Prasada into the party is being considered as the first step of BJP. The second biggest step is the inclusion of Ajay Mishra Teni in the Union Cabinet. Apart from this, the party will try to keep more and more Brahmins connected with the party with the help of Dr. Dinesh Sharma, Rita Bahuguna Joshi.

There is more news…


Source link


Leave a Reply