Congress fort collapses in Manipur: Congress state president Govinddas Konthoujam resigns, 8 Congress MLAs may join BJP today


  • Hindi News
  • National
  • Manipur Congress Committee President Govinddas Konthoujam Resigns From His Post, 8 Congress MLAs Likely To Jo in BJP
  • Advertisement

Imphal16 minutes ago

  • copy link

The President of the State Congress Committee of the northeastern state of Manipur, Govinddas Konthoujam, on Tuesday resigned from his post. It is believed that along with Konthoujam, at least 7 other Congress MLAs will join the BJP on Tuesday itself. Konthoujam is a member of the Legislative Assembly of the state from Bishnupur.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government has 36 seats out of the total 60 seats in the assembly. The alliance consists of BJP (24 seats), National People’s Party (4 seats), Naga People’s Front (4 seats), Lok Janshakti Party (one seat) and Swatantra (3 seats). In opposition, Congress has 17 seats, Trinamool Congress has one seat and 6 seats are lying vacant.

There have been reshuffles of MLAs in Manipur Legislative Assembly
If 8 MLAs of Congress join BJP, then BJP will have 44 MLAs, whereas only 9 MLAs will be left in Congress. The Manipur government has been in trouble since the 2017 assembly elections. In these elections, the BJP won 21 seats, while the Congress had won 28 seats. It is necessary to win 31 seats to form the government. In such a situation, BJP formed a coalition government. The alliance had 40 seats.

Nine MLAs withdrew support to the NDA government in 2020
In June last year, nine MLAs withdrew their support to Chief Minister N Biren Singh’s government in Manipur. This included three from the BJP, four from the National People’s Party (NPP) and two independent legislators. There were reports that BJP MLAs have joined the Congress. After this the Congress had 31 seats in the assembly. A few days later, the four NPP MLAs returned to the government, allowing the NDA to remain in power.

There is more news…


Source link


Leave a Reply