New Zealand Cricketer of the Year Award for Jamieson: 6ft 8in all-rounder got the most votes; Players like Williamson and Conway left behind


Troubled by Ads? Install Dainik Bhaskar app for news without ads

wellington25 minutes ago

  • Copy link

Jameson made his debut in international cricket against India in 2020. He played his first Test at Basin Reserve.

New Zealand’s 6-fit 8-inch all-rounder Kyle Jameson was awarded the Kiwi Cricketer of the Year Award. He got the Players Cap for 2021. Jameson received more votes from players such as New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and Devon Conway. New Zealand players and staff took part in the voting.

Watling honored Jameson
Jameson was honored with the award by New Zealand’s own wicketkeeper batsman BJ Watling. Watling will retire after the World Test Championship final against India. Jameson made his international cricket debut in the Test series against India in February 2020. Since then, he has played 6 Tests and has taken 36 wickets at a strike rate of 33.39.

In addition, Jameson has also scored 226 runs in Tests at an average of 56.5. Jameson has also played 5 ODIs and 8 T20s. He has 5 wickets in ODIs and 4 wickets in T20s. Due to his length and all-round ability, IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore bought him in the auction this year for Rs 15 crore.

“Fellow players did not make them feel different”
After winning the award, Jameson told ESPN Cricinfo that the last 12 months have been special for me. I want to say thank you to all the players present in the team. He never made me feel different. I did not expect this award. Many great New Zealand cricketers have won this award before me.

“I like to win, I enjoy it”
Jameson said that I like to win. I enjoy him. He told that as a child he wanted to become a batsman. By 2013, he batting in the top-3. But watching the Under-19 World Cup in 2014, Daily Headley advised him to bowl.

Wanted to become a batsman, became an all-rounder
In the 2014 Under-19 World Cup, Jameson took 7 wickets in 4 matches at an average of 23.85. His economy stood at 4.51. After this, he never looked back. Jamieson will now appear in the two-match Test series against England starting on Wednesday. After this, the New Zealand team will also play the final of the World Test Championship against India from 18 June.

Williamson has won the award 3 times
The award, which started in 2012, was won by former Kiwi batsman and wicketkeeper Brendon McCullum for the first time. After this Williamson won this award for three consecutive times from 2015 to 2017.

There is more news…


Source link


Leave a Reply