Dhoni created history on this day: India won the Champions Trophy by defeating England at his home, will Team India win the second trophy on the same day?


edgbaston11 minutes ago

  • copy link

Team India won the Champions Trophy on this day. Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja contributed significantly in this victory.

Hardly any fan can forget the date of 23 June 2013. India defeated England in the Champions Trophy final played at Edgbaston on this day. Incidentally, today India is playing another final against New Zealand in England itself. Former cricketer Mahendra Singh Dhoni also became the first captain to win 3 ICC trophies. Team India has also won the 2007 T20 World Cup, 2011 ODI World Cup under his captaincy.

Another coincidence associated with the Champions Trophy and the WTC final is that the Champions Trophy final was also interrupted by rain. This was followed by a 20 over match. The WTC final has also been interrupted by rain. Will Team India win the second trophy on this day itself, it will be a matter to be seen.

2013 Champions Trophy
In this rain-interrupted match, England won the toss and took the bowling first. Rohit Sharma returned to the pavilion after scoring 9 runs. After this Shikhar Dhawan gave a quick start by scoring 31 runs in 24 balls. He got out on a total score of 50 runs. Team India lost 5 wickets till 66 runs as soon as he was dismissed.


Dinesh Karthik got out for 6 runs, Suresh Raina for 1 and captain Dhoni for 0. After this, Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja took the team’s score beyond 100. Kohli scored 43 runs off 34 balls. At the same time, Jadeja remained not out after scoring 33 runs in 25 balls. Thanks to this, Team India had scored 129 runs for 7 wickets.

In reply, England did not start well. The team had lost 4 wickets till 46 runs. Sir Alastair Cook 2 runs, Ian Bell 13 runs, Jonathan Trott 20 runs and Joe Root scored 7 runs. After this ON Morgan scored 33 runs and Ravi Bopara scored 30 runs to take England’s score beyond 100 runs.

It looked like England would win this match as Jos Buttler was at the crease. But Ravindra Jadeja dismissed Butler for 0. In the last over, the English team needed 10 runs to win. Ashwin allowed only 4 runs and Team India won the Champions Trophy for the first time.

There is more news…


Source link


Leave a Reply