Political upheaval in Puducherry: Kiran Bedi removed as Deputy Governor; Narayanasamy’s government came in minority due to resignation of 4 MLAs


  • Hindi news
  • National
  • Puducherry Political Crisis Latest News; Narayanasamy Update | Four Congress MLAs Resign, Puducherry CM Call Urgent Cabinet Meeting

Fed up with Ads? Install Dainik Bhaskar app for news without ads

4 hours ago

  • Copy link

In Puducherry, there are signs of major political vicissitudes before the assembly elections. The Central Government has removed the Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi. Currently, Telangana Governor Dr. Timilisai Sundararajan has been given additional charge of Puducherry. Earlier, on Monday and Tuesday, 4 MLAs including 2 ministers resigned from the Congress government headed by V Narayanasamy.

Telangana Governor Dr. Timilisai Sundararajan will also hold the additional charge of Lt. Governor of Puducherry.

After the disqualification of one MLA and fresh resignations, the Congress government of the state has come into a minority. The number of Congress MLAs in the Assembly has come down from 15 to 10. However, when it comes to the Congress alliance, the number of MLAs of the government and opposition parties in the assembly has increased to 14-14. There are a total of 33 seats in the Puducherry Assembly. Elections are held on 30 seats, while legislators are nominated on 3 seats.

Congress government in a minority before Rahul’s visit
2 of the MLAs who have resigned have joined the BJP. The special thing is that this incident happened even before Congress leader Rahul Gandhi’s visit to Puducherry on Wednesday. Opposition parties have asked V Narayanasamy to resign, demanding a floor test after the 4 MLAs were removed from the government. Elections are to be held in the state in May this year.


John Kumar left the seat for CM
A. John Kumar, who resigned on Tuesday, was considered close to Chief Minister V Narayanasamy. He won the 2016 assembly election from Nellithop seat and vacated the seat for Narayanasamy. Kumar later won the Kamaraj Nagar by-election in 2019. Recently, he returned after meeting senior BJP leaders in Delhi. His resignation is seen in connection with this tour.

Those who resigned include MLAs A John Kumar, A Namassivam, Malladi Krishna Rao and E Thepayanthan. Apart from these, Congress MLA N Dhanvelu was disqualified for his involvement in anti-party activities. Among them, Namasivam and Thepayanthan have joined BJP, the rest of the leaders may also join BJP soon.

Status of parties in assembly
Assembly elections were held in Puducherry in 2016. The Congress had got 15 seats. V Narayanasamy became the Chief Minister. Apart from Congress, AINRC got 8, AIADMK got 4 seats, DMK got 2 seats. An independent candidate won. There are 3 nominated BJP MLAs here. The tenure of the government is scheduled to be completed on 8 June.


Source link


Leave a Reply